More Lebanese Please!

Today I made the Chickpeas Fatteh, which I had heard is one of Viviane’s favorite authentic Lebanese dishes.  In beginning this adventure, I must have checked 6 or 7 different stores for something close to Lebanese bread and to no avail. I found some “Middle Eastern Flat Bread” at Trader Joe’s, but this ended up not fitting the bill so after reaching my limit of frustration, I decided to go ahead with some pita bread. The rest of the ingredients were easy to come by in the average US supermarket.

I used the following ingredients to prepare my dish:

  • 1 15oz can low sodium chickpeas
  • 2 cups plain Greek style yogurt
  • 2 split, toasted, and broken whole-grain pita breads
  • 2 cloves of garlic (crushed)
  • 2 tbsp butter (and no Viviane, I did not replace with oil)
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar (Unio’ Vinagre de Cabernet Sauvignon)
  • 2 tbsp pine nuts

I began preparing by splitting the pitas and toasting them directly on a frying pan (without oil!).  I broke the crisped bread into small pieces and put half of them on a plate. Next, I strained the canned chickpeas and poured them over the top of the bread pieces.  I then cooked the crushed garlic and butter in a small frying pan until the garlic was tender, adding the red wine vinegar toward the end. At this point i added the yogurt to the top of the chickpeas and poured the sauce over the top of it. Greek style yogurt is kind of thick, so i had to mix the sauce with the yogurt and toss a bit. Last, I added the rest of the bread pieces, gave the mixture one last toss and topped it with the pine nuts.

I was really excited to make this dish as it is quite different from the usual things eaten by the masses in the states. It really did not disappoint either! I thought it might be a bit too apart from the norm for the kids, so I just made it for my mom and I. Mom said it was different, but delicious and preferred it with salt added to it. I really enjoyed the flavor and was surprised at how hearty this meal was. I mean, it had no meat, but it was truly filling! The Greek yogurt was a bit heavy though. I will probably use regular yogurt the next time I make this. I have no doubts that this will become one of the next on my list of usual meals. Thank you Viviane and Lebanon!

4 responses to “More Lebanese Please!

    • You should give it a shot. It was a refreshing new combination of flavors I would surely recommend. Have fun with it Angie! :)

      Like

  1. I can’t wait to try this!

    Like