Black Bottom Cupcakes

Cupcakes are generally not on my list of top desserts. However, I was convinced I could find a way to make them more like something I really enjoy. I browsed the internet in search of ideas and happened to come upon these delectable little treats, Black Bottom Cupcakes!

Generally my tastes tend toward the more chocolaty cakes and I love cheesecakes. These cupcakes seemed to offer me the best of both worlds and were not quite like anything I had made prior to this. This is what I did to make them:

Ingredients

Cheesecake Portion

8 ounces neufchatel cheese (softened), 1 egg, 1/3 cup sugar, 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, a pinch of salt.

Cake Portion

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, 1 cup sugar, 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, 1 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp salt, 1 cup water, 1/3 cup vegetable oil, 1 tsp balsamic vinegar, 1 tsp vanilla extract.

Directions

-In a bowl, beat the ingredients for the cheesecake portion until fluffy. Stir in the chocolate chips and set aside.
-In a larger bowl, combine the flour, 1 cup sugar, cocoa, baking soda and 1/4 tsp of salt. Make a well in the center of the mixture and add the water, oil, vinegar and vanilla. Stir together until well blended. Fill paper-lined muffin tins 1/2 full with the batter and top with about 2-3 tablespoons of the cheesecake mixture.
-Bake  at 325°F for 20 to 25 minutes.

These cupcakes were liked by most who had them. I brought them to a potluck and none survived. I wish I had made double the recipe! My cupcake doubtful self enjoyed them too, although these taste particularly better after chilling them for several hours in the refrigerator than they do fresh out of the oven. I would recommend anyone to try these who hasn’t yet and I’d definitely make these again!
6 responses to “Black Bottom Cupcakes

  1. Hey Clint, where can I find the neufchâtel cheese?

    -Ana

    • It is in any of our standard grocery stores in the US next to the Philly Cream Cheese. You can also interchange it with any “cream cheese” in the recipe and it will work fine. Neufchâtel just has less fat and a slightly milder flavor than most cream cheeses do. I heard your birthday is coming up soon, so Happy Birthday to you too Ana! I hope you have good luck with these when you make them! :)

  2. looks yummy!

  3. Very interesting name….black bottom :D Looks very delicious. Wish I can have one!