Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Mango and Habanero Chicken Sausage

I have been cooking more than usual, but I have not been taking photos as much. Some of the things I made were recipes I found online and appealed to me to try. I have taken pictures of some and left some out.  I am going to share a couple of them with you, these are the only ones I have pictures of.

The last thing was a Persian green bean omelet called Kuku, that I got from Taste of Beirut blog. You can find it here. Unfortunately I forgot to take pictures, since we were all very hungry and a bit in a rush. I recommend trying this recipe. The versatility of it is amazing, you can probably think of a million alternative to the green beans. We thought of many while eating.

The second one is an amazing Brussel Sprouts recipe. I found it while scavenging online for a recipe to cook some that Clint bought a while ago. I will transpose the recipe on our blog, and this is the link to the blog that originally posted it.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts Recipe with Balsamic, Parmesan, and Pine Nuts

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. brussels sprouts, trimmed and cut into quarters
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 T balsamic vinegar
  • 1 1/2 T Parmesan cheese (preferably fresh grated)
  • 1 T pine nuts (preferably toasted, could substitute other nuts of your choice)

 Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 F. Trim brussels sprouts, remove any discolored leaves, and cut into quarters (or halves if they are small.) Put sprouts in mixing bowl and toss with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.
  2. Cover roasting pan with foil if desired, and spray with non-stick spray if needed. Arrange sprouts in a single layer on roasting pan, and roast 20 minutes, turning occasionally, or until sprouts are slightly crisp and golden brown on the edges.
  3. When sprouts are nearly done, toast pine nuts in a dry pan about 2-3 minutes, until barely starting to brown. (Be careful, they can go from lightly brown to overdone quite quickly.) Put cooked sprouts back into mixing bowl and toss with Parmesan cheese. Arrange on serving plate and sprinkle with pine nuts. Serve hot.

We served it with Mango and Habanero Chicken sausage bought from Fresh & Easy. It was the perfect complement to the Habanero heat. And to top it all we had mango lassis, you can find the recipe here.

I will post the other recipe soon. As I mentioned before, these recipes are a must try. They are easy and full of flavor or maybe should I say flavors…

2 responses to “Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Mango and Habanero Chicken Sausage

  1. Pingback: Quinoa with Chicken, Almonds, and Squash | Taste-Buds

  2. Wow, I love brussels sprouts and ironicly also just posted some recipes. I hope you don’t mind but I would like to link your brussels sprout recipe sto my current article. You can check it out http://abbiescookingkitchen.blogspot.com/2012/06/mustard-glazed-brussels-sprouts.html