Parmesan Chicken Paprika with Apple and Raisin Salad

I got to cook the chicken paprika as lunch for my family today.  I decided to serve it with apple and raisin salad which oddly enough was to my dad’s taste. For those who know my father, they would be extremely surprised to hear that he said a dish is good. The chicken was approved also, but everyone mostly liked the caramelized onions and mushrooms.

I did not cook the recipe exactly as in the posted challenge.

First I made little pouches in the chicken breasts and stuffed them with Parmesan. Although, next time I would cover the chicken with the cheese and bake them for like five minutes in the oven.

I also used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. I pounded four cloves of garlic with a little salt, and when they became totally crushed I added a little olive oil and mixed with the garlic using the crusher and kept adding oil till I had a creamy texture.

I added half a teaspoon of cayenne pepper to the spices mixture as well, then I covered the chicken with them and the garlic cream. The paprika taste was not very apparent in the dish so my recommendation is to use more than one teaspoon.

Moreover I used canned mushrooms for I did not have any fresh mushrooms.

I did not use any butter for browning the chicken but a little drizzle of olive oil, but I added a tablespoon of butter when caramelizing the onions and mushrooms.

I think one onion for four chicken breasts is too little, next time I am using at least two big onions that again I will slice in strips not in rings.

I think the recipe has the potential to be amazing, if some adjustments are made to it. The taste was good as is but it lacked richness in flavors, which I like to have in my food.

On the other hand the salad I chose had that opulence. The creaminess that the goat cheese adds to the mild curry sauce and the way it makes the sweetness of the raisins mingle with the sourness of the apples. You have to have a little of each ingredient in each mouthful to get the full taste experience.

My one mistake was replacing the cider vinegar with home made red vinegar that came out too powerful. I would suggest adding walnuts or roasted almonds to this entrée, which I did not do because it was a first timer for me, but their taste would be wondrous with the creaminess of the dressing.

In the end though, everyone had an enjoyable meal that earned me a profusion of thanks.

Comments are closed.