Sweet Paprika Chicken in Wine

I made this recipe for my kids and I last weekend. They are not that fond of paprika, and I am not that fond of mushrooms, so I made a few adjustments to suit our tastes.

I started by cooking some finely minced garlic (about 3 cloves) and shallots (2) in a couple tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil. I try not to use too much butter if I can help it and of course I have something of a love affair for garlic! After the garlic became somewhat translucent,  I added 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts to the pan. I cooked the chicken for about 7 minutes on each side, then I added one sliced green bell pepper to the pan. I like to add vegetables like this later on in the recipe so that they maintain some of their original crispiness.

At this point I mixed 1 teaspoon of the paprika with 1 cup of light brown sugar and sprinkled it over the chicken pieces. I poured about ¾ cup of cream sherry wine around the chicken in the pan to begin forming the sauce. I covered the pan and cooked it on medium-low heat for about 15 more minutes, turning the chicken a few times to ensure it was basted well in the sauce and presto!

I served it for dinner with some steamed broccoli and basil red potatoes. As usual, the kids were not that fond of the broccoli, but the chicken was a hit! They gave praise about the flavor of the sauce a few times while eating, and cleared their plates. I enjoyed it as well. With the brown sugar, the sauce is somewhat sweet but is picked up nicely with the sherry, paprika, and garlic. Enjoy!

Comments are closed.