Sofficini Success!

I finally had the chance to make the sofficini today. I ended up making three dishes! I made saucy chops and potatoes for dinner and the sofficini. I also had left over béchamel sauce, so I cooked some macaroni, and made a quick mac and cheese for my lunch.

At Viviane’s suggestion, I made my own pasta sauce as well as béchamel sauce. She had explained how to make them both. I made the pasta sauce first, which I found quick and easy. I had never made béchamel sauce. I had previously made cheese sauce, but cheated, using the microwave. So Viviane insisted that I try and make the béchamel on the stove as it is meant to be. I found it quite intimidating, as I know a great white sauce is not that easy to make. But, in the end I managed it well and ended up with a thick sauce.

I must say I am quite proud of myself for making the sauce that well.

Next, I made the pastry dough. It was very easy and quick! I followed the recipe as stipulated. I am not used to working with dough, so I wasn’t sure how it would come out, but in the end I didn’t have difficulty with it.

The most difficult part of this recipe for me was sealing the sofficini after filling the dough. I filled them with cheese and mushrooms. I did not have Mozzarella, so I used a little Gouda instead. I ended up putting too much sauce which made it leak out the sides and it ended up being a pretty messy affair. I guess I am not the most elegant of cooks! However, I managed to close them all. I ended up with 6, all different sizes of course!

I then dipped the sofficini in egg and bread crumbs. Although I was supposed to deep fry them, I shallow fried them one by one in a small pan instead. The reason for this being that oil is very expensive here and it would have been a waste since the oil could probably not be used again. After frying, I placed the sofficini on kitchen roll paper to absorb some of the oil.

I have to say they were really delicious! Everyone in my family really enjoyed and asked where I got the recipe! I think this is fast going to become a favourite in my household.

Sofficini on Foodista

One response to “Sofficini Success!

  1. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

    Like