A Challenge for a Birthday Treat

I meant to write this entry days ago, but had some trouble with my health. However, I am more or less back to normal and finally feel up to writing the entry.

I celebrated my birthday on the 6 January, and decided that instead of the usual family-over-for-cake-and-tea, I would throw a party for my 8 nephews and 2 nieces (actually cousin’s children, but they are like my own nephews and nieces). They are all under the age of 6 and most of them have not had their own big birthday parties. So, I set out to throw a party that they (and I secretly) would enjoy. I planned my guest list, my menu and hired a jumping castle and a water slide.

After discussing my arrangements with Viviane, she suggested that since I would be cooking, I could prepare the challenge as one of my dishes. This turned out to be an excellent idea. I had to prepare all the food the day before, since I had planned the party for on the day of my birthday and invited everyone for lunch.

I followed the basic recipe, except I did not add dried chili flakes and I used fresh tomatoes with some tomato purée instead of canned tomatoes. I also used chili pepper for a bit of heat. I added some mushrooms in the end. I made a bit more than the recipe called for since I would be catering for more than my usual four people. I also added about a level tablespoon of sugar into the sauce for some sweetness. The pasta sauce tasted amazing and I could not wait for everyone to try it. Before serving, I cooked the fettuccine and tossed it with the heated pasta sauce. I did not sprinkle Parmesan as it is not a family favourite.

I also cooked a beef mince lasagna and a simple macaroni and cheese which are the kids’ favourite.

My cousins thought I was crazy to host the party and then cater all the food myself. But I did it for the love of cooking for others and knowing that they enjoyed the meal. The pasta in particular was a hit! Thanks Clint! I found it quick and easy to make and absolutely delicious and all my guests, young and old(er) agreed!

For dessert, I made Viviane’s tiramisu which everyone said was amazing. I also made a few cupcakes for the kids. My wonderful close friend Rabia, baked me a chocolate birthday cake and I am sure everyone would agree, looks decadent and delicious.

This was the first time I had thrown such an elaborate birthday party, which I also catered myself and I was very happy that it went well. Everyone had lots of fun and more importantly, enjoyed my cooking! The jumping castle and water slide were so much fun, and I admit I joined the kids on them both. I think every adult should go back to being a kid once in a while.

A big thank you to all the wonderful kids, my friends and family for making this particular birthday very special and truly…..awesome!

7 responses to “A Challenge for a Birthday Treat

  1. Happy belated B-day, Zee! Looks like a fun and flavorful time!! 😉

    Like

  2. Glad you had a great birthday! Everything looks delicious, especially the cake with Kit-Kat on top! 😉

    Like

  3. Lol. Thank you for the comments. I sure had some of the best fun in a long time acting like a 6 year old. I encourage everyone to let their hair down and play in the sand:)

    And next time….I will have to throw a kiddies party for the adults!

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday Zee! Hope you have fully recovered. It looks like such great fun of food and games. Totally agree…we should always have some childhood fun back. I hope my name is also on the invite list next time 😛

    Like

  5. Next time make sure I am on the list for the birthday 😀
    I will cook something I swear hahaha.
    I love the feel of the post made me feel like I was there (the other pics helped too hehe)

    Like