Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

I woke this morning excited and ready for this challenge after having some substantial time off from the blog. Indian cuisine is one of my favorites and so this recipe was of particular interest to me. I decided to craft this one with small pieces of chicken breast to mirror the chicken tikka masala I so enjoy at an Indian restaurant near me from time to time.

This is another recipe I had to prep at mom’s place since I will be vacationing in San Diego for the next week prior to returning home. So yes, I had to purchase most of the spices required for this as I had no access to those I bought from my previous breyani experience (Why Zee?! Why!?). Fortunately for me, the local grocery store happened to be having a sale on spices today. Equally as extraordinary was the fact that I was able to find the garam masala at this store and so I did not have to assemble it (Sorry Viviane!).

I marinated the chicken as the recipe suggested and played some baseball with my son in the park as we waited. It was the first warm day of the year in this part of California and so it was nice to get out and take advantage of the sun. The chicken was ready shortly after our return. As I was cooking for 5, I went ahead and doubled the recipe figuring that leftovers will probably not be a bad thing.

I followed the recipe given for the most part. The only changes I made were that I used about 700 ml of tomato puree (the recipe called for 550 ml), I used chicken breast in place of thighs, I used heavy whipping cream in place of the double cream, and I increased the recommended amounts of garlic and ginger slightly.

The aromas were mesmerizing to the senses as this was cooking! Each member of the family wandered into the kitchen at some point to see what was cooking. In the end, it turned out as I had hoped. I served it to my mother, father, and the kids, none of whom are all that familiar with Indian cuisine. I served this over rice with some olive oil braised, garlic Naan. They all loved it! I enjoyed this recipe as well, although to perfect it, I would probably add about 1 tsp of salt to the sauce and cut the lemon juice in it down to 1 Tbsp. Good luck to all with your renditions of this one!

6 responses to “Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

  1. Nice job! This looks absolutely delicious!

    Like

  2. Clint

    Fantastic! I applaud your effort! Indian cuisine can be fairly complex with all these spices~ but like you noticed the result can be outstanding. Now I want some too!

    Like

    • Thank you for the applause! I am loving your smoked salmon with the dilled labneh and pita chips. It is a creative, classy, and delicious looking dish!

      Like

  3. Mmmm….looks very delicious. I love the whole plate of food.

    Like

    • It can be a struggle coming up with all of the spices for these Indian dishes, but they never disappoint! Thanks for your comments. 🙂

      Like