Distilling Rose Water

My parents grow a special kind of roses in our mountain garden. These roses are used to distill rosewater.

Usually the distillation is not made in an apartment, but since my parents have still not gone to the mountain for the summer and the roses already bloomed and were picked, it was a must to make the rose water, before the flowers perish.

So the distilling device was borrowed from my uncle, and it was rose water making Sunday.

This made me think, it is a thing to share with the Taste-Buds readers. So I readied my camera, but it was a tad late because it was after the distilling device was assembled and I was not able to take a picture of the petals that go in the lower compartment.

In the upper compartment tap water is added and the distilling device is placed on a heat source. This water should not heat at any time. This is why there is a special tap to empty the heated water and a hose to replace it with cool water. The hose we had was very short to reach a tap so mom filled the compartment using a plastic pitcher.

Then on the other side of the distilling device is the “handle” from which the rose water comes out. This handle should not heat much either, otherwise a wet cloth and even sometimes some ice is placed on it to cool it down.

Under it mom placed the bottle topped with a funnel to receive the end result!

You should see the smell that filled the place when the rose water started to come out!

It is also important to keep the rose water dripping slowly. It should not drizzle at any time.

I took some pictures of the rose water drizzling as it first started to form, then mom adjusted.

You know that rose water distilling is over when the smell disappears from the drops. I wish I could say that the smell stays as strong as in the beginning, so you can smell it just sitting in a close by room, but it subsides to just be present in close quarters.

The rose water comes out so hot that the bottle gets foggy on the inside.

And here we are with a year’s supply of rose water. Make no mistake though this can be a day long process, not what you can call fast at all!

8 responses to “Distilling Rose Water

  1. I would love some of that rose water. Thanks for the post!

    Like

  2. Viviane,
    Fantastic post! Thank you for sharing this process. I’m sure the smell must have been delightfully overwhelming. I am fascinated with distillation and want to try it myself someday. The possibilities are endless. Capturing the essence of flowers and herbs is so nice, especially for use in the winter.

    All the best to you.

    Like

  3. heyyyyy, very nice blog, with all this food articles and challenges, i wish i was talented in cooking as my cousin ;))…hey coz miss u and ur food 😛 LOL. Anyway , today while sitting in the office, i wanted to have a Kneffeh (lebanese sweet) with my morning coffee, but in dubai i will not found the Kneffeh that i used to eat in Lebanon, than i thought , why i dont make it at Home- a home made kneffeh-, so i asked my Chef cousin for the ingredients…
    And i thought: since that is gonna be a CHALLENGE fro me to do a kneffeh at Home, why not suggest the Kneffeh as your new challenge :D:D……….is it possible???

    keep me updated,
    with all my LOVE
    your Immigrant Cousin ;))
    MIREILLE

    Like

  4. Fascinating Viviane; est-ce que tu as fait ça au Liban ou aux US?

    Like