Sweet and Savory Chicken Curry

This recipe is a recurring one in my family.

I don’t know the origins of it, if it is Indian or if it is just a dish with Indian feel, but what I know is that this dish combines an amazing combo of flavors, that despite it being a hot dish is very refreshing and gives that amazing summer feel.

It also associates sweet and savory flavors, fruits and vegetables against the heat of the curry:  I personally think it offers a beautiful balance of tastes.

I got the recipe from my friend’s mom and since then, I cooked it over and over for family and friends and I can honestly say it has been always a success.

I think part of its success is the fact that you can omit from your plate any of the side ingredients if you happen to not like them. You can make it a totally savory dish if you don’t like sweet with your food or you can eat it as a simple curried chicken, shrimp or even both.

I happened to cook this dish again today, with a couple of slight changes, and of course I am sharing with my Taste-Buds and our readers.

Chicken Curry

Serves 6 – 8

Ingredients 1:

For the chicken curry:

  • 1 Kg (2.2 lb) chicken breasts boiled and cut in bite sized pieces.
  • ½ Kg (1.1 lb) onions, julienned
  • 1 green pepper, sliced or diced
  • 1 can mushroom
  • 1 can peas and carrots combo (you can use fresh)
  • 1 liter chicken stock (obtained from boiling the chicken)
  • A pinch of dried thyme
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1 – 2 sticks cinnamon
  • 3- 4 Tbsp oil
  • 2 Tbsp curry sweet or spicy (to taste). Or a combo of sweet curry and chili pepper
  • Pepper
  • Salt

You can add fried shrimp with the chicken if you want.

For the rice:

  • 1 small can of peas
  • 3 cups rice (basmati or long grain)
  • 2 Tbsp oil

Preparation:
Sauté in oil:
The boiled chicken breasts until slightly golden.
Onions (separately) until they are light brown.

Add the chicken.
Add the pepper and mushrooms.
Add the peas and carrots and the chicken stock. Add water if necessary. The ingredients must be fully immersed.
Add the flour (the sauce must be a little thick), cinnamon, salt, pepper, thyme and curry. Bring to a boil.

If the sauce has a very light color, you can add a little tomato paste.

In the meantime cook the rice with water, salt and oil.  Add the can of peas, a couple of minutes before the rice is cooked.

Ingredients 2:

  • Put all ingredients in separate bowls.
  • 2 Potatoes, cut into squares and fried
  • 2 Tomatoes, cut into small squares
  • 1 can pineapple compote, cut into quarters and washed with water (soak the pineapple slices if necessary)
  • Salted cashews separated in two

Toast about a handful of:

  • Grated coconut (toasted till golden)
  • Pine Nuts
  • Almonds
  • Raisins, seedless and soaked in water till re-hydrated.

Put rice in a serving platter and garnish with pineapple and cashews, to serve for a group.  Put the curry in a separate bowl.

To serve individually put some rice in a plate, add some curry chicken and then top with all or the ones you prefer of ingredients 2.

I started with toasting the ingredients 2 and cutting the pineapple.

Then proceeded with cutting the vegetables and preparing my “mise en place”. I used fresh peas and carrots instead of cans. Nothing beats fresh right?

I sautéed the chicken and decided to add the onion to it instead of sautéing separately. I cooked till the onion softened.

I added the mushrooms and peppers. I cooked for a couple of minutes.

Then in came the peas and the carrots. I cooked till carrots softened.

In came the chicken stock and the spices. Then boil away. I also added a little turmeric for color instead of tomato paste, because I wanted  a yellowish color.

In the meantime I cooked the rice. Aren’t the green peas gorgeous against the whiteness of the rice? It was the first time I cooked Basmati rice, it came out wonderful!

I also fried the potato cubes.

Then came time to assemble the dish and the most important moment: eating. After all what is the use of any feast if eating is not the goal 😀

6 responses to “Sweet and Savory Chicken Curry

  1. mmm, this looks delicious! such a wonderful melody of flavors.

    Like

  2. I do love a good chicken curry. Your array of spices are delicious! It is great fun when the recipe is a family one.

    Like

  3. This is lovely a lovely dish, great combination of flavors.

    Like