How the Cookie Monster Invaded my Kitchen!

Did you know that using spreadable butter yields in failed cookies? I did not! Today, I learned the hard way.

I set my mind to bake some cookies today. Double Chocolate Chip cookies are my favorites ever. Not that I am the big cookie muncher or anything, but if I am to eat a cookie that would be my first choice.

I decided to use a Nigella Lawson recipe, but since I had no chocolate in any form, chips or bars, I made some adjustments and made simple chocolate cookies.

These turned out crispy outside, chewy inside. Purrrfect!

So where do the failed cookies come in?

Wait, wait! Here is the full story. My eldest brother does not like chocolate, actually he hates it. (yeah I know, weird, who hates chocolate right?). So mom suggested that since I am making cookies, why not make some plain ones for my brother? I saw a great opportunity to make some with walnuts. The problem was there were no more butter. My aunt suggested she would go get. So she brings spreadable butter. Being the novice that I am in baking, I use it happily. The cookie dough called for soft butter right? Right… but the soft butter had to be regular softened!

Big mistake the cookies went flat in the oven, like they were smashed by the cookie monster in person!

The taste was not bad, but the cookies turned into some shapeless mush. I tried cutting with a pizza cutter to make individual ones, but when cooled they were not really edible! I felt sorry for using the fresh walnuts picked from the mountain garden!

Well on the bright side, I learned something new today. Here is the adjusted recipe for the cookies. For the original click here.

The adjusted recipe:

  • 150g flour
  • 2 tbsp cocoa, sieved
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 125g soft butter
  • 125g sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, cold from the fridge

The rest was pretty much same as the recipe. Except I had to bake them for about 20 min instead of 18. This of course depends on the oven.

For the walnuts ones, I omitted the cocoa and stirred in the walnuts instead of the chocolate chips(in the original recipe). Do not use spreadable butter though. 😀

4 responses to “How the Cookie Monster Invaded my Kitchen!

  1. Well I just learned something today too. But regardless I would go for chocolate, love chocolate!

    Like

  2. heyyy nice job …poor WALNUT COOKIE look like an alien from outspace lol :D:D…but thank you for sharing your new adjusted recipe …..miss you CHEF :D….

    by the way …i wonder what is the taste of the chocolate one………………YUMMY :))

    Like

    • Next time you are here we can make a batch 😀 and you will taste. They are good, I ate one after lunch 😀 Miss having you around, no one now says they don’t wanna eat but then end up eating when I am done prepping 😦

      Like