Challenge 11: Cup Cake King!

I have thought a long time about what the next challenge should be for my Taste Buds. With the end of the year festivities, and my work having all sorts of end of year functions, I had decided that this year I was not going to buy gifts, but make them. I then decided to make cupcakes. It dawned on me that cupcakes would be a wonderful challenge because it is so versatile and you can be as simplistic or creative as you want!

The recipe I used is a basic recipe, but of course, there are so many variations for cupcakes. I have used this recipe many times and I can safely say it never flops!

Cup Cakes:

125g margarine

200ml castor sugar (170g)

5ml vanilla essence

2 eggs

500ml self-raising flour (280g)

2ml salt

200ml milk

Method:

  • Place paper cookie cases on a baking sheet or in muffin tins
  • Cream margarine and sugar until smooth and creamy. Add essence and eggs, beating well after each addition. Fold in sifted flour and salt alternatively with milk
  • Spoon into paper cases until ¾ full. Bake in preheated oven at 200 °C (400 °F) for 12-15minutes.
  • Wait until cold and decorate.

Enjoy!!!

Comments are closed.