Getting Back on Track: Stuffed Baked Portobello Mushrooms and Cannelloni with Broccoli and Breadcrumbs

It has been a long while since I felt the urge to cook something more intricate than a season salad: I have to admit though that I have been entangled in personal business.

My TB Clint and I got engaged and we were busy with preparations that an engagement entails. We also were preparing for his recent visit in June and my move with him to USA. But some events prevented my move and it had to be postponed.

So now life is back to its normal routine and I think I am back to my Sunday lunch preparation.

The idea today was to use a pack of cannelloni that has been sitting in the cupboard for a while. I looked up a recipe with tomato sauce, but it had spinach filling. Which was a problem because my mom cannot eat spinach, it makes her ill. So we thought we might go for asparagus instead, but in the supermarket, Eureka, I get an idea as I see the broccoli. Why not use that as a filling? My mom seemed enthused by the idea: broccoli is not something we commonly use in Lebanon.

I also stumble upon some Portobello mushrooms and also my mom seems eager to try them. To tell you the truth, I never had Portobello mushrooms before, at least I never cooked with them. They are a rare find here.

Shopping ended and we got home at around noon. We barely had enough time to prepare for lunch (Lebanese have lunch around 2 pm and even later at times). Luckily the recipes I chose to make did not need much time to prepare and here they are, I am sharing them with you.

Baked Stuffed Portobellos

 Ingredients:

  • 5 or 6 medium Portobello mushrooms
  •  1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 50 g Parmesan
  • 1 tsp thyme or oregano
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 tsp tarragon
  • 1 small clove of garlic
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Preparation:

  1.  Peel the mushrooms or clean them.
  2. Chop the feet, the onion and the garlic.
  3.  Sauté the onions and garlic in the olive oil then add the chopped mushroom feet.
  4. Cook for a couple of minutes.
  5. In the meantime, season the breadcrumbs with the herbs and the parmesan.
  6. Fill the Portobello heads with the sautéed vegetables then with the seasoned breadcrumbs.
  7. Bake in the oven till the cheese melts and the top browns.

Cannelloni with Broccoli and Breadcrumbs

 Ingredients:

  • Seasoned breadcrumbs
    • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
    • 100 g Parmesan
    • 1 tsp thyme or oregano
    • 1 tsp dried rosemary
    • 1 tsp tarragon
  • 400 g Cannelloni
  • 400 g broccoli (fresh or frozen)
  • 400 g ricotta or cream cheese
  • 1 kg of red ripe tomatoes peeled
  • 1 onion
  • 1 tbsp tarragon
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 pinch nutmeg
  • Salt, pepper

Preparation:

  1. Dice the onion and sauté in the olive oil till translucent. Add half the tarragon and cook till onion is slightly golden. Add the tomatoes and bring to boil. Add salt. Leave a bit watery.
  2. Prepare the filling by boiling the broccoli till soft. Cut them in small pieces and mix them with the cream cheese or ricotta. Add pepper, nutmeg and salt if necessary.
  3. Fill the Cannelloni and align them in a baking dish, then pour the tomato sauce over them till they are fully covered.
  4. Layer the seasoned breadcrumbs on top and bake on 250˚C for about 25 min. or till top is slightly golden.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Getting Back on Track: Stuffed Baked Portobello Mushrooms and Cannelloni with Broccoli and Breadcrumbs

  1. Looks tantalizing and those mushrooms look like a wonderful addition! Remember, in marriage you share most things 50/50! 😉

    Like