Teaming up for the Blind Taste Test

Friday was the chosen day for me to do the blind taste test suggested by TB’s last challenge. I partnered up with my sister to test each other.  When her kids heard about it, they got all excited and wanted to team up with their mom and me and play “the game”.

Anthony, the oldest, wanted to be on his mom’s team. Being a competitive boy he was all concerned by who wins and how?

Marc wanted to be on my team since he is my “sous-chef”.

It all started with a trip to the supermarket to buy ingredients for the challenge and the Sablés I made the day before. Initially there were supposed to be five ingredients for each team but we did not have any time left at the supermarket so we settled for the four already chosen. We also had water handy for contestants to wash up the previous taste. I think it is a must in this test to cleanse the palate.

The test was not as easy as I thought. Without the visual association, the guessing offers a little challenge.  Although I am not sure if the last ingredient my sister chose was compliant with the rules of the challenge: it was a tropical powdered juice.

I guessed powder juice but missed the “tropical flavor” to guess pineapple. Marc guessed mango.

The funniest part was that both teams chose one identical ingredients: dried prunes.

I will show the results for both teams in the following tables:

Team one:  Viviane and Marc  v/s Blind Tasters: Samar and Anthony

Ingredients

Samar

Anthony

Dried Prunes

Guessed

Apricot

Kohlrabi

Turnip

Turnip

Palmito

Guessed

Pickles

Kiwi

Guessed

Strawberry

 

Team two: Samar and Anthony v/s Blind Tasters: Viviane and Marc

Ingredients

Viviane

Marc

Dried Prunes

Guessed

Guessed

Dried Cranberries

Raisins

Raisins

Cashew

Guessed

Walnut

Tropical Flavor Powder Juice

Pineapple Powder Juice

Mango Juice

 It was a fun experience mostly. The kids enjoyed as much as we did, it was hilarious how the boys got competitive. Although the blind tasting was filled with laughter for all, even the family who was watching.

It is also good to realize your potential in this regard, I wonder though if this is a skill you can forge and make yourself better at.

So who knows maybe my Betty Boop Night mask still has more food tasks coming up.

5 responses to “Teaming up for the Blind Taste Test

  1. I might do this in the coming days. Can’t wait! It Looks like you all had fun doing it too. I must admit, I’m a little scared of what my teammates will feed to me…

    Like

  2. What a great idea. I’d challenge my sister, but I’m afraid she might feed me bleu cheese and mushrooms (I detest both). 😉

    Like

  3. It was really fun. It all was about 30 minutes but we were cracking up

    Like

  4. So glad to see the kids got involved! I found myself a partner so cannot wait to get cracking on the test:)

    Like