Apple-Cranberry Fruit Crisp

As we approach the year’s end once again, food seems to gain more and more attention, with desserts in particular gathering the majority of it. My workplace seems to revolve around food to a large degree on a normal basis and so as you might imagine, this time of year requires a huge reservoir of willpower even from the most devout of the health conscious. This week we  exemplified that with our first Autumn potluck in which we had to make a dish beginning with the first letter of our last name (no, I did not orchestrate this). Being as how I had about 4 pounds of Granny Smith apples on hand, an apple crisp was the first thing that popped into my head. As I sliced and peeled the apples for the crisp, I of course tasted a piece of an apple to see what kind of tartness/sweetness I was dealing with (as a cook should always do right?). The result told me that this “apple crisp” would have been a little lacking on the tartness factor without some kind of change. Normally I would add a little lemon juice to my apple pies if the apples are not particularly tart, but this time I wanted to try something a little different, so I decided to add cranberries to the crisp. I figured the berries would add that bit of sour goodness to make this crisp a masterful work of art to the taste buds.

This turned out to be a wise choice! The crisp maintained a good balance between sweetness and tartness and was overall a very pleasant ensemble of flavors. This was a hit at my company potluck and a great way to kick off this year’s holiday dessert season. I will definitely be making this one again during the holidays, enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 4 lbs Granny Smith apples (peeled and sliced)
  • 1/2 lb whole, fresh cranberries
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup of unsalted butter
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Directions

  1. For the fruit mixture: place apples, cranberries, and white sugar into a 13″ x 9″ baking dish and mix.
  2. For the topping: combine oats, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and salt in a separate dish and cut butter into the mixture with a knife or pastry blender until it resembles course crumbs.
  3. Completely cover the fruit mixture with the topping and bake at 350° F for about 35 min or until fruit mixture is bubbling vigorously.
  4. Serve warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

2 responses to “Apple-Cranberry Fruit Crisp

  1. Cranberry Pie sounds like a tasty change of pace, since I enjoy tart fruit desserts. I will have to look into that and thanks for sharing the idea 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m loving cranberry pie – this looks like a recipe I should try. Thanks.

    Like