Corn Casserole

First i would like to wish a late Happy Thanksgiving for our Buddy Clint and to all who celebrated; this year I had the chance to share the preparation for this holiday.

Arthur Murray Dance Studio is an American franchise in Dubai, and I have been practicing ballroom dancing there since almost 6 months. The manager is from United States and he invited us all for a Thanksgiving celebration on Wednesday 23rd November where every attendant will prepare one traditional dish.

I was to prepare the corn casserole and here is the recipe that Joe (the manager) provided me as per his mom’s:

“My mom made this every thanksgiving while i was growing up and it’s now my favorite: corn casserole at Thanksgiving”

Corn Casserole

Preparation time: 10 mn
Cook time: 30mn
Total time: 40mn

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • Salt to taste
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1can (15 ounce) cream style corn
  • 1 can (15 ounce) golden whole kernel corn (drained but resave 3 tablespoon liquid)
  • Butter or margarine
  • 1/3 cup half and half (milk and cream)
  • 24 to 30 soda crackers, crushed (reserve an adequate amount for topping)

Preparation:

  1. Beat egg in a bowl with a fork until frothy. Blend in seasonings, reserved liquid and corn. Add chunks of butter (about 2 tablespoons), cream and cracker crumbs; mix well.
  2. Turn into a buttered 1 quart casserole .Top with reserved crumbs and dot generously with butter.
  3. Bake at 350F for30 minutes.”

After getting all the ingredients, – and of course I choose the light versions of the milk, butter and cream – I hit the kitchen and follow the recipe step by step.

I was scared to mess a step since it was the first time that I prepared something that I never tasted or saw before that day. After 40mn of preparation, the smell was good and really tempting but I managed to save it for next day 😉

After the party I was so happy to receive text messages from friends admiring my corn casserole :D…that made me happy. I guess I am going to try it once I am home for Christmas and see what my family would say:D.

Enjoy the recipe and waiting for your opinion 😀 :D.

One response to “Corn Casserole

  1. Thanks for the Holiday wishes 🙂 This casserole looks like it is derived from the idea of corn chowder with crackers. Comfort food for sure!

    Like