Blog Anniversary and Kibbeh B Laban (Kibbeh Meatballs in Yogurt)

Four years ago, the same day the Taste-Buds started. I cannot believe it has been so long already! Although the blog has changed from its original format and my Taste-Buds moved on from blogging, I still consider it as this common venture that gave us a lot of fun and taught us new things. It even helped me get over my baking aversion, I can make some very decent cookies and brownies now, I even made a custard from scratch (supervised by Clint), but I did all the steps myself! A big breakthrough for me!

I cook more often than not, but I don’t think everything is fit to be featured on here. Sometimes I am in a hurry and I forget to take pictures and I remember after the fact. (Insert shamefaced smiley here…)

Though there is one thing I am always grateful for with this blog: the group of followers we gained over the years. I appreciate every comment left, everyone of our followers reading without commenting and everyone who comes across our blog and reads or likes a post.

I know I have closed the comments section on older post, but this is only because keeping them up was an open invitation for spam. Although spam is filtered and it redirects to the junk mail part of WordPress, a lot have managed to go around the checks and ended up in the comments inbox. You sill can contact us on the contact page if you need to, or on the latest post which usually has the comments open for a little while.

Now moving on to the most important part of this post: the recipe!

This recipe is one of my favorite dishes of all times! It is very simple to make and can be easily eaten hot or lukewarm. The catch here is the cooked yogurt, usually it is a hate or love story. I have never met anyone who is indifferent about it. People whether love it or cannot stand it.

But if you happen to belong to the love club, this same sauce can be used for another dish called Sheesh Barak, that I hope I will be posting about one of these days. It consists of dough filled meat with the yogurt sauce used in Kibbeh B Laban.

Kibbeh balls can be shaped in the traditional torpedo-like way, but this requires a lot of practice (which I don’t have), and the will to touch the meat with my hands (which I don’t have either). Handling the meat with gloves makes it almost impossible to shape the Kibbeh in its traditional way, so I just stuck with the normal ball shape.

I am posting the recipe for the yogurt sauce in this post, the Kibbeh recipe you can find here. Adjust it based on the amount you are going to make.  I halved it in my recipe and it yielded about 30 balls of approximately 1 inch.

Kibbeh B Laban

Ingredients:
  • 30 Kibbeh Balls (half the recipe found here)
  • 2 lb plain yogurt (not Greek)
  • 1 1/2 tsp corn starch
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 Tbsp dried mint (you can find how to dry mint here)
  • 2 – 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 cup rice uncooked
  • 1 1/2 cups water to cook the rice
  • Salt, Pepper to taste
Preparation:
  1. Prepare the Kibbeh balls and bake them in the oven at 350°F (177°C) till brown. Flip them over at about mid cooking time so they brown on both sides.
  2. Steam the rice. (Boil the 1 1/2 cup water then stir in the rice, cover and set on the lowest heat possible. Steam for about 18 minutes).
  3. Put the yogurt in a pot and whisk till smooth then heat it up on medium.
  4. Dissolve the corn starch in the 1/2 cup water and whisk the mixture in the yogurt. Add the pepper then bring to a boil.
  5. Pound the garlic and the salt till they make a smooth paste. Pound the dried mint to incorporate it with the salt and garlic. Dump the paste into the yogurt.
  6. Add the cooked rice and the Kibbeh balls. Bring to a boil, stirring from time to time. Adjust the seasoning then serve.
  7. If you feel that the medium heat is too high and the yogurt is in danger of sticking to the pot, lower the heat as needed.

Comments are closed.