Grapefruit Cranberry Sauce

This is my second Thanksgiving here! Already!

While last year all I did was eat and try new foods for the first time on Thanksgiving, this year I wanted to pitch in and prepare something.

A couple of weeks ago we bought a big bag of cranberries and they have been sitting in the fridge begging to be used.

I did not want to make guinea pigs out of everyone, so that big bag of cranberries had to be opened for an experimental batch.

So yesterday, I looked for a Cranberry Sauce recipe online, and to my disappointment, they all called for orange juice. We had none (we are not big juice drinkers, we are whole fruits fans), we did not even have oranges (I am not a fan of those either :S).

“Need is the mother of invention”, right? I ogled our big bag of grapefruits, and decided to give it a go.

After scavenging for recipes for a while, I adapted a really simple recipe that I found here.

I made half a batch, since it was an experiment. Lo and behold, the cranberry sauce met Clint’s approval, it had a nice deep red color and the perfect consistency.

(Sorry for the not so great pics, I took them after the sauce was halfway eaten, we had turkey sandwiches for dinner yesterday :D)

Grapefruit Cranberry Sauce.

Ingredients:
  • 12 ounces (~340g) cranberries
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup grapefruit juice (I used fresh grapefruits)
Preparation:
  1. In a saucepan over medium heat, dissolve the sugar in the grapefruit juice.
  2. Add the cranberries and cook until the cranberries pop (yes they do pop, so cover the saucepan, if you don’t want cranberry sauce projectiles everywhere.)
  3. Cook for about 10 minutes or till the cranberries are cooked down and the liquid reduced a little.
  4. Remove from heat and place the sauce in a bowl. The cranberry sauce will thicken as it cools.

That is all folks! In the end I will leave you with the pictures of the gorgeous turkey my mother-in-law made last year! Happy Thanksgiving!