Tapiz – Malbec 2012 Wine Review

It has been a while since I did a wine review that it is long due. I have been tasting a lot Screenshot_2018-09-10 Tapiz Alta Collection Malbec 2012 Wine comof new wines but have not really took the time to do a full technical sheet. The good news though is that Clint and I discovered a site/app where you can rate your favorite wines and keep track of your likes and dislikes. Join and follow me here on Vivino, if you want to keep track. 

The novelty of this review is that you are getting two technical sheets: one from me and one from Clint, offering you a comparative view. Follow Clint here on Vivino.

This is my first time trying a Malbec, so I had no previous wine to compare it to. The least I can say is that this wine offered an interesting new experience. It was a surprising flavor, it took me a couple of minutes to wrap my mind or taste around it. 

At first, I was not sure that it would be a good sipping wine although I thought it would be a good pairing wine. The astonishing part is that this wine grows on you. It throws you off with its boldness at first then you keep coming back for more.

If you are a fan of mellow, sweet and fruity wines, steer clear of the Tapiz Malbec.

If you like potent and dry wines, I recommend you try this wine.

I will copy the review from Bevmo’s site for an additional (more professional) opinion. BTW it is on the 5 cents sale now, you might wanna score two bottles for the price of one.

“91 PTS WILFRED WONG. Nicely packed and generous in fruit, the ic and brightly-stylish ’12 Tapiz Malbec exhibits red and black fruit, with earth and leather on the palate; fine, long finish.”

Technical Sheet – Clint

Wine Tapiz – Malbec
Type  Red
Vintage  2012
Country Argentina, Mendoza
Composition or Varietals 100% Malbec
Color Deep, dark red
Nose Sharp and spicy with deep fruity background.
Palate Begins with a sharp bite of tannin, followed by a rush of blackberry and prune. Finish is surprisingly smooth.
Rating  3.5 stars
Price ~ 18$

 Suggestions: Pair with red meats or strong aged cheeses.

Tapiz Malbec

Technical Sheet – Viviane

Wine Tapiz – Malbec
Type  Red
Vintage  2012
Country Argentina, Mendoza
Composition or Varietals 100% Malbec
Color An opaque and oxblood wine with hints of purple and a lighter red on the edges where it offers a slight transparency.
Nose Vinegary, almost rancid. A one dimensional smell, no layers or complexity. Hints of rubber.
Palate Very similar to a Bordeaux. For the first time in my life, I understand likening a wine to an old tire; this creates a connection between the rubber in the nose and the palate. This wine is not fruity at all, it is bold yet simple. The taste is almost as potent as hard liquor without the bite of it. It catches your throat and leaves your taste buds with a surprisingly clean and smooth finish.
Rating  3.5 stars
Price ~ 18$

Suggestions: I see the Malbec from Tapiz pairing well with a roast complete with mashed potatoes and gravy. The acidity of the wine is well fit to cut a fatty meal, hence its perfection for red meat (thinks steak –although I am not a steak fan), or an aged hard cheese: think aged Cheddar or a sharp Gruyère.

Have Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!