Wine Review: Ksara – Réserve du Couvent 2008

Another Lebanese red wine for review: although usually I prefer whites, this is a red I wanted to share with our readers.

Technical Sheet

Wine Ksara – Réserve du Couvent
Type red
Vintage 2008
Country Lebanon – Bekaa Valley
Composition or Varietals Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Cabernet Franc
Color Deep red with burgundy undertones
Nose Woodsy with oak and fruit undertones
Palate Full bodied wine, dry and vigorous, punch of a young wine, smoothness of an older one, woodsy and soft aftertaste that is ephemeral. Complex texture to the taste, subtle on the tongue.
Rating 5 stars
Price 8$ (in Lebanon)

Suggestions: This wine would be perfect for meat, game, or even spicy rich dishes; but it would be a bad complement for light dishes because they will not be a match for the body.

If you could say a wine has class, this one would definitely have class. It is rich and agreeable, you would be able to discover the complexity of the taste as you sip it on.

Réserve du Couvent 2008 was the gold award winner of the 14th Berliner held in 2010. I can see why actually: Ksara was able to pull the “clean palate” achievement. The aftertaste would “flash” in your mouth leaving a very pleasant effect that rapidly fades, leaving the tongue ready for the second round.

This wine is high on my recommendation list, I offered it as a gift and it was highly appreciated. It is one of my personal favorites.

I can also safely say that Ksara has been producing some excellent wines for the last few years. Their wines offered many pleasant experiences. I think some world class connoisseurs agree with me, since Ksara won many awards over the years.

For those who would like to read more about this wine, the technical sheet from the winery is below:

Reserve du couvent

2 thoughts on “Wine Review: Ksara – Réserve du Couvent 2008

  1. I have had this particular vintage on a couple of occasions now and I have to agree with your 5-star rating! I am a red wine lover and this one along with the 2007 are my favorites thus far. It certainly does leave you with a “clean palate” after tasting, yet has all the body and deep flavors of a dark red with apparent oak tannins. This wine works well with beef and is also very pleasant to drink by itself. I think it is an absolute steal at the price it is sold for in Lebanon and would recommend it to anyone looking for a red with a bit of an edge on the bulk of them out there. Thanks Viviane!

    Like

Comments are closed.