Seafood Jambalaya for Easter Lunch

I decided to cook Jambalaya for Easter lunch and to make it with fish and shrimp base. We have invited my uncle and his family for lunch, so I had to double the recipe.

I followed the recipe mostly, except that I omitted the sausages (I am not a great fan) and that I used garlic and onion for the Creole seasoning instead of the powder.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On this note, let me share with our readers a small tip about onions. We all know how those little suckers can make us cry and I don’t know where I heard this pointer, but it recently popped into my mind in a very opportune moment I might say.  Onions have been extremely potent lately and just the smell could make anyone in reach pour tons of tears (OK! A small exaggeration!). So the other day I remember that I heard/read somewhere that placing the onions in the freezer before cutting them will make your tears stop. So I thought why not try? So I peeled the onions, cut them in half and put them in the freezer for about five minutes. Oh miracle! The tears were not there, except a little in the end which was a pretty acceptable outcome, considering the onions in questions.

Back to my Jambalaya and my cooking. I used long grain rice, worked the recipe as described, step by step and since my uncle’s family lives in the apartment next door, it seems that the aromas reach them , for they complimented the smell as they came in.

I also followed Clint’s advice about the heat and the salt and I made sure I did not go overboard. Although my dad said I should have increased the heat, but the women all agreed that it was just fine.

The Jambalaya was a success with everyone and despite his heat comment, my dad served himself again and again. The Jambalaya even earned the adjective: good from him, which is an accomplishment in itself.  Actually, everyone ate more than one serving.  Even my uncle, who used to work at a restaurant, was very pleased with it and the wine that accompanied it: a grey from grey grapes by the local winery Ksara. It is from the year 2008, potent and fruity and it complimented the Jambalaya’s taste and balanced it. It is a pretty good find actually since it is also on the cheap side!

I did not take pictures of the table, but mom made a season salad and an arugula salad while my aunt brought a local dish: Kibbeh bi Laban, which consists of Kibbeh meat balls in cooked yogurt.

Of course after lunch we had the traditional egg cracking competition, again I did not take pictures. Anyway I was first to lose.

After that came the dessert: Maamoul, the traditional filled cookie served for Easter. Dates, walnuts or pistachios fillings usually are the ones most people make or buy, although a version with Ashta (clotted cream) is also available at pastry shops but somehow it is not traditional for Easter.

My mom also makes cookies from a recipe she got from my grandma, a very regional recipe, we call them Easter Kaak.  They are cut and decorated entirely by hand usually. It is a job that takes quite a long time. These are very good with coffee, my mom makes some small ones especially for that.

We also indulged with some ice cream in the end. I know it was too much food to eat, and it was a tad heavier on me, because with my newly acquired braces I have been unable to eat well, till like a day or two ago.

I think my dad is a big fan of the Jambalaya, for as I am writing my post he reheated some and is having it for dinner.

I hope everyone had a great Easter, I am tired as hell but I think it was a good day.

12 responses to “Seafood Jambalaya for Easter Lunch

  1. I don’t blame your dad, Viviane. It looks and sounds great!!!

    Like

  2. Viviane!

    What a wonderful meal for Easter! First of all, thanks so much for your tip about the onions in the freezer: I cry rivers of tears when I handle onions and I will surely try it.
    Also, how wonderful to use a Ksara wine with your meal! and the traditional maamoul! Both mom and grandma used to make it every Easter no-fail and this year I missed it!
    Take care,

    Joumana

    Like

  3. I would probably skip the sausage too! The dish looks very comforting.

    Like

  4. Al Masih Kam .. Hakan Kan

    Marhaba Viviane, this is my first time here.
    I love the Krass Kaak, and I am waiting for mom
    to get me the right stamp to do a posting about the
    special Krass they do in Ras Baalbeck during Easter Time.

    Nice Blog will come back

    Like

  5. I never made Jambalaya, this should be one of the dishes I should make this year. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  6. Ooooh….I love everything here. The jambalaya and cookies look delicious and those eggs and bunnies look so cute! Happy Easter (belated)

    Like

  7. The Easter kaak cookies sound interesting!

    Like